Thank you for reading this article. Hope you have gained some insights.
You have earned
5 Health Points

Health & Wellness

Post a comment, collect 15 Health points
[ 0 Comment(s)]

Understanding the three Ayurvedic Doshas – Vata, Pitta and Kapha!

In our previous posts, we spoke about the correlation between the three Ayurvedic Doshas – Vata, Pitta and Kapha, and the Five Elements – Earth, Water, Air, Fire and Space, that all living beings are made up of. Just a quick recap before we proceed with a detailed discussion on the three Doshas:

· Vata is the combination of Air and Space,

· Pitta is Fire,

· And Kapha is the combination of Earth and Water.

Now let’s discuss the three Doshas in detail:

1. Vata

Vata is the energy of movement, vibrancy and dynamism. As it is derived from Air and Space, Vata is light, extremely mobile and dynamic. Vata Dosha governs all movements in the universe and our body – which is a part of the larger cosmos. It also controls the activities of the nervous system and the process of elimination - which in itself is movement of the waste from inside the body to outside.

Qualities of Vata

Given its intrinsic nature or the fact that it is derived from Air and Space, Vata is dynamic, vibrant and mobile. Vata is cold, dry, light, rough, irregular and changeable.

If Vata is your predominant Dosha, then you will always be on the move. Vata individuals are considered to be very lively, mobile and creative. They got bored of things easily and prefer jumping from one thing to another. When in balance, Vata individuals could be the life of the party. When out of balance, they could get restless, anxious and worrisome.

We will talk about Vata individuals in detail as we go along. Stay tuned for that.

2. Pitta

Pitta is the energy of transformation. It is derived from Fire and controls all transformational processes in the universe and our body. Pitta is chiefly responsible for digestion, energy production and all metabolic processes in the body.

Qualities of Pitta

Given the fact that Pitta is Fire, it is naturally hot, intense, fiery, pungent, penetrating, sharp and acidic. Pitta makes things happen… it transforms and changes. So Pitta individuals are also natural doers and go-getters.

If Pitta is your predominant Dosha, then you will be extremely focused and determined. Pitta individuals have a sharp intellect, can grasp things easily and can also do or get things done easily. These people have excellent digestive fire or Agni and can eat almost anything and everything. When out of balance, they could lose their cool very easily. Pitta individuals are very hot-headed and fiery in nature.

We will discuss the Pitta body type in detail too in the near future.

3. Kapha

Kapha is the binding or glue energy. Kapha keeps things together in the universe. It is a combination of Earth and Water and is therefore heavy, and provides strength and stability.

Qualities of Kapha

Kapha is solid, stable, heavy, slow, soft, oily and cold. Possessing the qualities of Earth and Water, Kapha is what keeps us grounded and keeps our bodily organs and tissues together. Kapha individuals have a strong build and enjoy great stamina. They have soft, radiant skin, big eyes and a strong frame.

Kapha individuals are easy-going, happy-go-lucky and fun to be with. When in balance, they are caring, nurturing, protective and supportive. But when out of balance, they tend to get lazy, lethargic and even depressed. An out-of-balance Kapha could also be obsessive, over-protective and an eternal procrastinator.

Once again, we will discuss the Kapha Dosha in detail as we go along.

So that pretty much sums up our basic understanding of the three Ayurvedic Doshas – Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

Now your next question would be, how do you know what’s your body type or Prakriti or constitution? Worry not; we will deal with that in our next post.

view all articles

Sharing is caring! Keep spreading Ayurveda.
You have earned
10 Health Points