Thank you for reading this article. Hope you have gained some insights.
You have earned
5 Health Points

Health & Wellness

Post a comment, collect 15 Health points
[ 0 Comment(s)]

Explaining the Ayurvedic Prakriti or Body Constitutions or Body Types!

By now we clearly understand that there are three Doshas or principal energies governing the universe. These Doshas are Vata, Pitta and Kapha. In our previous post, we spoke about how the three energies are different and how they play a role in determining our body constitution and even our personality traits.

Now let’s try and understand the various body types from an Ayurvedic perspective. Ayurveda believes that there could be seven different body types based on the concentration and predominance of the Doshas. These body types are:

1. Vata Constitution

2. Pitta Constitution

3. Kapha Constitution

4. Vata-Pitta Constitution

5. Vata-Kapha Constitution

6. Pitta-Kapha Constitution

7. And Vata-Pitta-Kapha or Tridoshic Constitution.

We need to understand that each and every person will have all the three principal energies or Doshas, but the body constitution or Prakriti is determined based on the predominant Dosha.

For example: A Vata body type will also have Pitta and Kapha Doshas, but Vata is what governs the personality traits, characteristics, behavior, actions and even diseases for that particular individual since it’s his/her predominant Dosha. Likewise for other Prakritis or body types.

Let’s briefly understand the characteristics or traits of an individual based on the predominant Dosha:

1. When Vata is predominant:

Since Vata is the energy of movement and dynamism, a Vata-predominant individual will be very active, agile and mobile. Vata body types are considered to be quick learners and creative, but could get fickle-minded if their Vata goes out of balance. We will discuss the Vata body type in detail in our next post.

2. When Pitta is predominant:

Since Pitta is the energy of transformation or Fire, Pitta body types are dynamic and action-oriented. They believe in getting things done, and are very ambitious, determined and focused. They are usually very intelligent and can grasp things very easily. With an intense Fire element, they are fiery, aggressive and could get pushy at times. More about the Pitta body type will follow as we go along.

3. When Kapha is predominant:

Kapha being the combination of Earth and Water, individuals of this body type are very grounded, stable and dependable. Since Kapha is the energy of binding, these people are very closely connected to their family and friends, are very realistic in life and are generally loving and caring. When out of balance, the Kapha body types could get obsessive and overly possessive. More on the Kapha body type later, as we go along.

4. Vata-Pitta predominance:

These body types will have the predominance of both Vata and Pitta Doshas and will exhibit both the Air & Space and Fire qualities.

5. Vata-Kapha predominance:

These body types will display the qualities of both Vata and Kapha, i.e. Air & Space and Earth & Water.

6. Pitta-Kapha predominance:

These body types will exhibit the qualities of both Pitta and Kapha, or Fire and Earth & Water qualities.

7. Vata-Pitta-Kapha or Tridoshic body type:

This is considered to be the rarest of all body types, where the individual will display all the qualities of all the three Doshas in equal amounts. Ayurveda believes that those with a Tridoshic body type have the strongest immunity and have a strong resistance against diseases.

So, there you go. Those are the seven body types or Prakritis or body constitutions that Ayurveda talks about. Pretty simple, aren’t they?

This seems to be getting interesting. From our next post onwards, we will try and elaborate these body types in detail. First up, we will begin with the Vata body type. Stay tuned for that.

view all articles

Sharing is caring! Keep spreading Ayurveda.
You have earned
10 Health Points